Glimpsed by GF Miller (ARC)

Hey, hi, hello! Welcome back to another spoiler-free review from your girl Stacia! Today we’ve got a cute lil romcom featuring fairy godmothers, wish granting, and Star Trek. Be sure to read alllll of this post because there’s a fun surprise at the end 🙂

Tour banner from Turn the Pages Tours featuring the tour dates of January 19 to January 25.

perfect for fans of Geekerella and Jenn Bennett, this charming, sparkly rom-com follows a wish-granting teen forced to question if she’s really doing good—and if she has the power to make her own dreams come true. Charity is a fairy godmother. She doesn’t wear a poofy dress or go around waving a wand, but she does make sure the deepest desires of the student population at Jack London High School come true. And she knows what they want even better than they do because she can glimpse their perfect futures. Making this existential crisis way worse is Noah—the adorkable and (in Charity’s opinion) diabolical ex of one of her past clients—who blames her for sabotaging his prom plans and claims her interventions are doing more harm than good. He demands that she stop granting wishes and help him get his girl back. At first, Charity has no choice but to play along. But soon, Noah becomes an unexpected ally in getting to the bottom of the glimpses. Before long, Charity dares to call him her friend…and even starts to wish he were something more. But can the fairy godmother ever get the happily ever after?But when Charity fulfills a glimpse that gets Vindhya crowned homecoming queen, it ends in disaster. Suddenly, every wish Charity has ever granted is called into question. Has she really been helping people? Where do these glimpses come from, anyway? What if she’s not getting the whole picture?

Back cover of book, courtesy of Barnesandnoble.com
Image courtesy of Instagram.com/Stacialovestoread

So when I signed up to read and review Glimpsed, I had no idea it would actually be a book I really enjoyed and would totes reread in the future. Charity is our main character and she is a sort of junior godmother: with just one touch, she glimpses the truest desire of someone in need (a Cindy, like Cinderella) and then takes upon herself to grant that wish. We’re given the backstory that all previous wishes had ended quite nicely for the Cindies. A couple people wanted the standard teenage dream: the hot guy or girl, one kid wanted people to notice him for his dance talent, nothing too crazy. So when Charity bumps into her newest Cindy and sees the dream she wants, its old hat for her to grant the wish and get the girl to her end goal. But then she’s confronted by a stalker: someone who has been watching her with the Cindies and has decided that Charity is actually brainwashing people, not granting wishes, and making their lives worse, not better.

Glimpsed was super cute and a very fun, easy read. The pop culture references made show that not only was the book written in current times, but that the characters are just like us. I was also really happy that the author seemed to put thought into the dialogue and reactions of the characters, as evidenced by the way they interact with each other. Sometimes in reading contemporary YA, teenage characters can be written as unrealistic or too mature/immature in their thinking. I can easily and confidently say that was not the case here.

Overall, I’d say Glimpsed is a solid 4 stars for me. The plot line does get a smidgen predictable around the 3/5th mark, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t still enjoyable!

Image of the author courtesy of author at gfmiller.com

G.F. Miller is the author of Glimpsed, her debut novel, published by Simon & Schuster on January 5th. G.F. Miller absolutely insists on a happy ending. Everything else is negotiable. Her wish is to go everywhere—and when a plane ticket isn’t available, books fill the gaps. She cries at all the wrong times. She makes faces at herself in the mirror. She believes in the Oxford comma. And she’s always here for a dance party.

You can find out more about her and what she’s up to at gfmiller.com. I was given an eBook Advanced Copy, as well as a finished copy upon release from the author and publisher in exchange for an honest review and my participation on this book tour. This has in no way affected my review or opinion. If you would like to purchase your own copy of Glimpsed, please visit https://bookshop.org/a/11727/9781534471351


🥳🥳🥳GIVEAWAY INFORMATION 🥳🥳🥳

For this tour, we have THREE (3) separate giveaways! Up for grabs, we have ONE (1) signed copy of Glimpsed by G.F. Miller (available to US only), TWO (2) EXCLUSIVE chapters from Noah’s POV, and a Skype or Zoom visit with the author (both available to INTL)! This will run from January 19th to January 26th at 11:59 PM CST. To enter this giveaway, click the link below!RAFFLECOPTER LINK: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1e4a114d17/?

Published by stacialovestoread

I’m a firsttime blogger and a lifelong reader. Join my journey here, and on my bookstagram @stacialovestoread!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: